PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Internet Problem



waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 05:04 PM
I currently have 2 platforms

[platform1(UBUNTU)] [platform2(WINDOWS)]

I removed the harddrive on platform1 where my ubuntu is installed and moved it to platform2 and moved my windows harddrive to platform1, but the internet on my Ubuntu no longer works. :confused:

Fire_Chief
July 28th, 2008, 05:29 PM
Is the network card in both platforms the same? If not, you need to reconfigure your network connection on the Ubuntu system to use the new network card detected (assuming it is detected).

Cheers!

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 05:35 PM
How would I reconfigure it, and I'm assuming it's different because there is no internet when I switch the harddrives

halitech
July 28th, 2008, 05:36 PM
open a terminal

ifconfig
post the output here

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 05:45 PM
in ifconfig, i got this as a return

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:471 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:471 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:23572 (23.0 KiB) TX bytes:23572 (23.0 KiB)

halitech
July 28th, 2008, 05:49 PM
ok, so its not seeing the network card at all. was the card working in windows?

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 05:55 PM
when the windows was originally there, the internet was working fine

Het Irv
July 28th, 2008, 06:02 PM
Is this Internet connection Wired or Wireless?
If Wired is it a PCI card or built in
If Wireless is it a card or USB?

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 06:05 PM
it's a wired connection, not sure if its a pci or built in

halitech
July 28th, 2008, 06:07 PM
open a terminal and post the output of

lspci

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 06:12 PM
output of lspci

0000:00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation E7520 Memory Controller Hub (rev 09)0000:00:02.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation E7525/E7520/E7320 PCI Express Port A (rev 09)
0000:00:04.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation E7525/E7520 PCI Express Port B (rev 09)
0000:00:05.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation E7520 PCI Express Port B1 (rev 09)
0000:00:06.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation E7520 PCI Express Port C (rev 09)
0000:00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
0000:00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
0000:00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
0000:00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 02)
0000:00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev c2)
0000:00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 02)
0000:00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801EB/ER (ICH5/ICH5R) IDE Controller (rev 02)
0000:01:00.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 80332 [Dobson] I/O processor (A-Segment Bridge) (rev 06)
0000:01:00.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 80332 [Dobson] I/O processor (B-Segment Bridge) (rev 06)
0000:02:05.0 SCSI storage controller: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic 53c1030 PCI-X Fusion-MPT Dual Ultra320 SCSI (rev 08)
0000:05:00.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6700PXH PCI Express-to-PCI Bridge A (rev 09)
0000:05:00.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 6700PXH PCI Express-to-PCI Bridge B (rev 09)
0000:06:07.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82541GI/PI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 05)
0000:07:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82541GI/PI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 05)
0000:09:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon RV100 QY [Radeon 7000/VE]

halitech
July 28th, 2008, 06:21 PM
it seems to be showing 2 network cards

0000:06:07.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82541GI/PI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 05)
0000:07:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation 82541GI/PI Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 05)


do you have 2 networ cards installed?

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 06:27 PM
Yes i do

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 07:12 PM
Anybody have a solution?

Het Irv
July 28th, 2008, 07:35 PM
And you have tried both of the cards?

Normally Ubuntu will recognize your LAN ports automagically, but the Hard drive switch might have messed something up.

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 08:25 PM
yes i've tried both cards but both do not work - is there anything i can do to make the ubuntu recognize recognize it?

Fire_Chief
July 28th, 2008, 08:28 PM
What happens if you try
sudo ifconfig eth0 dynamic
sudo ifup eth0

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 08:40 PM
it says there is no such device

Fire_Chief
July 28th, 2008, 08:44 PM
You could try to probe for it and see if the system will assign the driver.
sudo modprobe e1000 I think this is the right driver for the NIC.

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 09:16 PM
that command line brings up nothing for me

xnostradamusx
July 28th, 2008, 09:21 PM
got the same problem in my brothers desktop its pci network card,

it seems it is not recognized by ubuntu

Fire_Chief
July 28th, 2008, 09:22 PM
That's ok, it's not supposed to really output anything unless it has an error. But since it did not give an error, do you now have the e1000 module loaded?
sudo lsmod | grep e1000
If so, what do you now see from ifconfig?
Hopefully you now have an eth0 interface that is usable.

Cheers!

waterrr
July 28th, 2008, 10:27 PM
Still didnt work :(

i get this in ifconfig


lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:471 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:471 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:23572 (23.0 KiB) TX bytes:23572 (23.0 KiB)

Fire_Chief
July 29th, 2008, 03:00 PM
But did it show the module loaded?

JoneYee
July 29th, 2008, 03:05 PM
Are the nics configured to be teamed at the switch/router? ( I doubt it, but It's worth asking.

What happens if you bypass the rotuer and cable directly to your cable/dsl modem?

Have you tried deactivating one of the nics?

Are the NICS DHCP or static?