PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] AARGH! Permissions! Command-line! Yuk!

hellopaul
July 28th, 2008, 05:00 PM
Hello.

I am new to Ubuntu, but am a very experienced computer user, but quite inexperienced when it comes to old-fashioned Ubuntu-style command-line interfaces. I have two questions:

1. I have installed Ubuntu on my wife's laptop, hoping it might be better/faster/leaner than Windows Vista. She is less computer literate than me, and has never typed a command since she threw out her MS-DOS machine many many years ago. In practice, once I've managed to set up (if I manage to set up!) her machine, will she be able to use it for normal day-to-day office/internet/email tasks without ever having to go near the terminal? It looks like installing even the smallest program requires way, way more than the 'double-click the installer' that Windows/Mac users enjoy.

2. How can I log in as 'root' or whatever I have to do, so that while I'm setting up the machine, I can just drag & drop files and not have to revert to the 1970s style terminal / sudo cp... just to copy or move files? I hate being told 'permission denied' - surely the USER tells the computer what to do, not the other way round?! I know it's possible to screw up the whole OS by deleting the wrong file, but I'm more than happy to take this risk. I can't even open a file using Text Edit without the silly permission denied thing!:confused:

I appreciate that Ubuntu is free and under constant development, but I was unaware that it really is not a finished GUI/OS and, as much as I hate to say it, in no way can replace Windows for an average user. I use MacOSX on a day-to-day basis, and using Vista and Ubuntu make me realise just how good it is! (As it should be for the MASSIVE premium that Apple forces people to pay for its machines!)

Here's hoping my Ubuntu relationship can improve - I love the Ubuntu/Linux philosophy:)

Paul

Dr Small
July 28th, 2008, 05:03 PM