PDA

View Full Version : Grab 10x10 to 100x100 pixel section of screen ?

joebert
July 26th, 2008, 05:51 AM
Please forgive me if I don't know what I'm talking about.

I'm basicly looking to duplicate the zoom/magnify functionality of this (http://www.colorschemer.com/colorpix_info.php).
Where a variable sized section of the screen is magnified & clicking returns the RGB value of the pixel.

I've got a few years of experience with JS & PHP, I've managed to build Hello World with GTK & for a console, I'm getting the hang of Glade, but retrieving a section of the screen has really got me scratching my head.

I'm having a tough time determining what I'm looking for, let alone where to look.

Any pointers about retrieving that section & anything else I should know would be appreciated. :)

BTW, I'm on Ubuntu Hardy & don't have any immediate plans to make it work anywhere else at the moment if that makes a difference.

mbsullivan
July 26th, 2008, 05:59 AM
I've got a few years of experience with JS & PHP

... but this isn't a browser app, right? It's a stand alone application. And you're using C/C++ for this application, if I'm not mistaken?

There's probably a sexier way to do it, but the first thing I thought of was hacking scrot (http://freshmeat.net/projects/scrot/) to do it. Basically it'll come down to using imlib2 to grab a portion of the screen, and then putting that info into your GUI.

Mike

joebert
July 26th, 2008, 06:26 AM
... but this isn't a browser app, right? It's a stand alone application. And you're using C/C++ for this application, if I'm not mistaken?

There's probably a sexier way to do it, but the first thing I thought of was hacking scrot (http://freshmeat.net/projects/scrot/) to do it. Basically it'll come down to using imlib2 to grab a portion of the screen, and then putting that info into your GUI.

Mike