PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Worth it to learn C?

bbqsandwich
July 24th, 2008, 08:00 PM
Hello,

I'd like to learn a desktop programming language. I like the idea of being able to write a simple program, compile it myself with gcc or whatever, and use it right away (however basic the program may be). I also hope to better be able to understand the programs I use in Linux by looking at the source code. It seems to fit with the spirit of Ubuntu.

All that said, is it best to learn C? Should I learn something else, like Python? I know some Javascript, basic (very basic) Ruby, etc., so I am somewhat familiar with the logic/structure of programming languages...

Thanks!

PGScooter
July 24th, 2008, 08:05 PM
Hi,

I am not an expert on programming languages, but for your purposes, I might think about Perl. Perl is an excellent complement to linux. You can do absolutely anything you need to with text files.

KIAaze
July 24th, 2008, 08:09 PM
Of course it's worth it!

As to what language to choose...:
Learning Computer Programming FAQ (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=667422)

Sticky from programming section:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=832449

If you need any more help, here's a good forum section:
http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=39

edit:
Concerning above response:
Yes, Perl is very good if you want to work on text files.
But so is Python, and personally, I think it's a lot easier than Perl for this purpose.

I'm no professional programmer, but here's my personal opinion:
-If you want to write simple games: Python
-If you want to write complex games (FPS, RTS, 3D stuff): C++ (but Python and Java are apparently also 3D capable, altough I haven't been convinced by their speed in this domain yet)
-If you want to create GUIs: C or C++ with GTK+, wxwidgets or QT, Python+PyGTK