PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] compiling problem.

msmr
July 24th, 2008, 06:24 AM
I recently (after being unable to somehow find a way to add the universe and multi verse repositories to my synaptic) decided to compile bitchx.

Unfortunately, i ran into this problem.

configure: WARNING: cannot find setupterm - trying tgetent
checking for tgetent in -ltermlib... no
checking for tgetent in -ltermcap... no
checking for tgetent in -lcurses... no
configure: error: cannot find setupterm or tgetent

^^^ i install ubuntu maybe 3-4 hours ago and was just going around messing about trying to get linux how I wanted it.

I honestly have no idea wtf I did wrong or what I did, this is my first time really trying to do anything on linux of this sort and am stumped.

iaculallad
July 24th, 2008, 06:28 AM
I recently (after being unable to somehow find a way to add the universe and multi verse repositories to my synaptic) decided to compile bitchx.

^^^ i install ubuntu maybe 3-4 hours ago and was just going around messing about trying to get linux how I wanted it.

I honestly have no idea wtf I did wrong or what I did, this is my first time really trying to do anything on linux of this sort and am stumped.

What about doing it the easy way as bitchx is available in the repository:

sudo apt-get install bitchx

RomeReactor
July 24th, 2008, 06:40 AM
Hi. Did you install build-essential? If you haven't, look for it in Synaptic (System->Administration->Synaptic). You need at least the GCC compiler, which build-essential provides, along with other useful tools; or, to install it from the terminal:

sudo aptitude install build-essential

Have you tried Pidgin?

ApOgEEs
July 24th, 2008, 06:42 AM
To add Universe and Multiverse repositories, Click on System > Administration > Software Sources.
On the Ubuntu Software Tab, Check on the checkbox with lines ended with (universe) and (multiverse). Then close.

msmr
July 24th, 2008, 07:20 AM