PDA

View Full Version : IT Security Programming in Ubuntu

munyaradzi
July 23rd, 2008, 05:17 PM
Im new to ubuntu and im interested in IT Security. What Linux programming languages should i learn? Python? Perl? C? C++? Please help.

PS. I found it hard to get a link to post a new thread. Cant it be made easier?

Kadrus
July 23rd, 2008, 05:19 PM
Read the stickies (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=832449),and I think C would be a good choice.

LaRoza
July 23rd, 2008, 05:24 PM
Im new to ubuntu and im interested in IT Security. What Linux programming languages should i learn? Python? Perl? C? C++? Please help.

There are no real "Linux programming languages", unless you can't shells. Python, Perl, and C are cross platform.

What was hard about it?

Kadrus
July 23rd, 2008, 05:45 PM
True.Most languages used in Linux are cross-platform and some which uses Microsoft .NET framework can be ran on Mono,such as C#,F#,ASP,etc..But there are libraries that are only suitable for a specefic OS,and some work on all of them.

munyaradzi
July 23rd, 2008, 06:04 PM
How do i keep track of my posts? I understand now i have to go to the actual folder eg Programing for me to be able to post a thread. How do i keep track of these posts ?

Kadrus
July 23rd, 2008, 06:09 PM
Go to:YOUR PAGE (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=630528)
then to statistics and then go to all posts.
That way you see your last posts..

pmasiar
July 23rd, 2008, 06:12 PM
Im new to ubuntu and im interested in IT Security. What Linux programming languages should i learn?

Learn languages used in apps you want to make secure. All the above, and more.

If you want to develop your own tools, I suggest using Python for main development, occasionally adding C libraries for speed (after speed is a problem, not before). See this PDF presentation (http:www.blackhat.com/presentations/bh-europe-06/bh-eu-06-biondi/bh-eu-06-biondi-up.pdf) about using Python to break into Skype from blackhat EU 06 conference.

ghostdog74