PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Launching World of Warcraft

Sithely
July 23rd, 2008, 04:27 PM
Hi,
I'm new to Linux but so far I'm loving Ubuntu. I followed the guide from here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WorldofWarcraft and I got warcraft to install and run, but I have to open the actual folders and find wow.exe to get it to work.

I tried the method shown there:
[Desktop Entry]
Encoding=UTF-8
Name=World of Warcraft
Exec=wine /home/<username>/.wine/drive_c/Program\ Files/World\ of\ Warcraft/WoW.exe
Icon=WoW.svg
Terminal=false
Type=Application
Categories=Application;Game;
StartupNotify=false

and it does make an icon in my applications/games for wow but when I click it, it won't launch.

I've tried changing the exec line with my path but still no luck. I copied my installation from windows to Ubuntu and it's in /home/sithely/World of Warcraft (sithely being my username)

I'd greatly appreciate some help with this.

Thanks

Flyingjester
July 23rd, 2008, 04:39 PM
http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=11329 following the instructions on the bottom of the page might help you out.

C!oud
July 23rd, 2008, 04:41 PM
It won't work because it can't find the exe since you are not pointing it to the right place. Edit the line Exec= and it should work or if you are looking for another way to start it go into the wine menu and press browse C drive. Then under program files navigate to WOW and just double click on the exe within to start the game and it should start if you installed it properly.

Sithely
July 23rd, 2008, 04:50 PM
It won't work because it can't find the exe since you are not pointing it to the right place. Edit the line Exec= and it should work or if you are looking for another way to start it go into the wine menu and press browse C drive. Then under program files navigate to WOW and just double click on the exe within to start the game and it should start if you installed it properly.

My actual command is
[Desktop Entry]