PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Toshiba problems Help please



markab9569
July 23rd, 2008, 12:40 PM
I have purchased a Toshiba Satellite A205-S5000 for the sole purpose of running Ubunto and learning all about Linux. ($398 at Wal mart)

My problem is that I have loaded up Ubuntu 8.04 from a disk (which went well) but it will not recognize my wireless card, and even after hooking up the computer directly by wire I can not access the Internet.

Can anybody give me some insight into my problem and possible solutions?

Mark

overdrank
July 23rd, 2008, 12:46 PM
I have purchased a Toshiba Satellite A205-S5000 for the sole purpose of running Ubunto and learning all about Linux. ($398 at Wal mart)

My problem is that I have loaded up Ubuntu 8.04 from a disk (which went well) but it will not recognize my wireless card, and even after hooking up the computer directly by wire I can not access the Internet.

Can anybody give me some insight into my problem and possible solutions?

Mark

Hi and welcome, you can use the command
lspci
In the terminal located under applications, accessories, terminal and this will identify your hardware and then you can search the forums or post the info.

HieroPosche
July 23rd, 2008, 12:47 PM
Please post the output from


lspci

and


ifconfig

ALso in make sure roaming mode is enabled in the system->Administration->network section. It should be, by default, but can't hurt to check.

markab9569
July 23rd, 2008, 01:53 PM
I have attached the results of running those commands

markab9569
July 23rd, 2008, 02:05 PM
Here are the results as simple text.

mark@mark-ubunto:~$ lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 03)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 03)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 03)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 03)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 3 (rev 03)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 03)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 5 (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 03)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f3)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA AHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 03)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller (rev 01)
05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)
0c:04.0 CardBus bridge: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 Cardbus Controller
0c:04.1 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Texas Instruments PCIxx12 OHCI Compliant IEEE 1394 Host Controller
0c:04.2 Mass storage controller: Texas Instruments 5-in-1 Multimedia Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS PRO/xD)
0c:04.3 SD Host controller: Texas Instruments PCIxx12 SDA Standard Compliant SD Host Controller
mark@mark-ubunto:~$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1e:ec:38:de:33
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:250 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:1382 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1382 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:69100 (67.4 KB) TX bytes:69100 (67.4 KB)

halitech
July 23rd, 2008, 02:16 PM
ok, you have an Atheros wireless card.

05:00.0 Ethernet controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter (rev 01)

but Ubuntu doesn't see it so far. this thread may help

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=718244&highlight=Atheros

markab9569
July 23rd, 2008, 11:28 PM
I am still having a problem with the first half of this question, which is getting a hardwire connection to the internet.

I put the ethernet cable from the cable modem directly into the ethernet jack on the toshiba, and it recognizes the network, but firefox still won't go to the Internet.

I have checked and roaming is enabled and browser is in online mode


Mark

spupy
July 24th, 2008, 12:43 AM
I am still having a problem with the first half of this question, which is getting a hardwire connection to the internet.

I put the ethernet cable from the cable modem directly into the ethernet jack on the toshiba, and it recognizes the network, but firefox still won't go to the Internet.

I have checked and roaming is enabled and browser is in online mode


Mark

Are you sure you don't need any proxy settings? Or a static IP?
Also, after you think you are connected to the internet, ifconfig should show you your IP address (inet addr). If it is still 127.0.0.1, as the text you pasted shows, I think there might be a problem with receiving an IP.

halitech
July 24th, 2008, 12:45 AM
the 127.0.0.1 is for his lo (loopback) address. His eth0 isn't showing an address at all.

open a terminal and try

sudo ifup eth0

markab9569
July 24th, 2008, 01:15 AM
I ran that command and got the message ignoring unknown interface eth0=eth0

markab9569
July 24th, 2008, 01:57 PM
On the advice of a friend, I ran the following commands:

ifconfig eth0 up and dhclient eth0

they returned:

Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.6

Copyright 2004-2007 Internet Systems Consortium.

All rights reserved.

For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/sw/dhcp/



Listening on LPF/eth0/00:1e:ec:38:de:33

Sending on LPF/eth0/00:1e:ec:38:de:33

Sending on Socket/fallback

DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8

DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 21

DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 2

No DHCPOFFERS received.

No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.

... And I still Firefox still won't connect to the internet

markab9569
July 24th, 2008, 07:49 PM
bump

markab9569
July 30th, 2008, 12:06 AM
OK, I finally got the problem solved. Thanks so much for oyur help

homeboy2kfun
September 1st, 2008, 06:04 AM
im so lost can you help

halitech
September 1st, 2008, 03:32 PM
you might have better luck starting a new thread, with a good description of what the problem is and then describing what you have done already to try and resolve the problem.