PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Sound requires reboot

agobox
July 23rd, 2008, 02:22 AM
Hi,

I have a six speaker surround system which sounds great. However, after shutting down and starting up the sound doesn't work at all. If I reboot, the sound does work. Any ideas on how I can fix this?

I'm completely new to Ubuntu. I searched the forums but didn't see any answers to this problem.

thanks for any help,
agobox

Dr Small
July 23rd, 2008, 02:33 AM
What exactly do you mean, the sound doesn't work?
Do you get any errors when trying to use sound?

agobox
July 23rd, 2008, 03:40 PM
Hi Dr.,

well, no sound at all. When CDs play no sound comes out of the speakers. The Ubuntu start-up drum roll doesn't play. No system sounds.

There are no error messages, and everything else seems to work normally. But, once I re-boot, all sounds work fine.

One more piece: I have to use the Re-Start to get sound. If I shut down completely, and boot up again there is still no sound.

baffled.

thanks for your help,
ago

sydbat
July 23rd, 2008, 03:42 PM
I'm having a similar problem, except I have some sounds, but not others.

billgoldberg
July 23rd, 2008, 04:14 PM
I don't really have a idea.

Some things you can try:

Switch from pulse audio to alsa or something else in system-> preferences ->sound (use the test button).

Open up alsamixer (using the terminal) and look if nothing is muted (you could also download and use gnome-alsamixer).

Install "asoundconf-gtk" and open it to make sure you selected the correct card.

Those are the things I would try.

Dr Small
July 23rd, 2008, 04:22 PM
If you have a .wav somewhere, try running:

aplay /path/to/file.wav

And you could see if you got any errors, or you could just launch Totem, VLC, Mplayer from the terminal, and when it doesn't play, look at the output in the terminal too see what the problem could be.

First off though, make sure you are in the 'audio' group:

groups

If not, then run:

sudo adduser $USER audio

Dr Small

sydbat