PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New ubuntu duel boot installation

paulm2008
July 22nd, 2008, 06:50 PM
Hi, Good evening

I have just installed ubuntu on my Striker II Formula, Q9450, Corsair 4Gb [2x2Gb] 1066MHz [CL5] Dominator RAM and 8800GTX XFX graphics card.

Being a total novice to Linux. My fist attempt to undertake any activity [which incidently resulted in me having to re-install both vista and ubuntu] was to install a wireless driver for my Netgear WG111v3 USB wireless adaptor. However when I followed the instructions as posted on the web [link below] to generate an executable named ndiswrapper

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=732827

the make instruction failed as a result of the system being unable to find a vast number of libraries, following compilation. I assume the PC has to be configured in someway to ensure my system system knows what the library paths are.

Is there a link to a thread highlighting how I actually set the system up [I'm sure there must be one - I find it hard at first navigating forum site - particularly if you do not know what question you really want to ask] - such that installation of this nature can be carried out. I do not want to have to re-install every thing again !!

Kind Regards

Paul

Potatoj316
July 22nd, 2008, 06:55 PM
you might not have had the package build-essential installed, to install type this in the terminal

sudo aptitude install build-essentialthis should add all those libraries that are not found

Het Irv
July 22nd, 2008, 06:58 PM
Do you have a way to temporarily hook up to the internet in Ubuntu, like a ethernet connnection? If so you can search for and install the missing libs using Synaptic.

System -> Administration -> Synaptic Package Manager

If you cannot hook up, you can look for the packages @ packages.ubuntu.com and manually install them.

wtp00
July 22nd, 2008, 07:05 PM