PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Accessing motherboard RAID possible?

w2irt
July 22nd, 2008, 04:09 PM
Hi all,
Pre-absolute-beginner here (i.e. haven't even DL'd the distro yet), and I have a couple of "can I even do this" questions.

I have a 5 year old XP Pro box that's just too bloated to live. It's current life function is a file and FTP server.

My goal is to wipe the OS and have this box do the job right with Linux. The thing is, the stuff I need to access is currently on a motherboard-installed RAID array, which is formatted with NTFS. Can I bring this over after reformatting the OS (the OS is on a separate physical HDD)?

I need to be able to read from and write to this RAID-1 array from both Macs and PCs, and set up an FTP server similar to what I have running now.

Is what I've proposed somewhat viable? How can I get Ubuntu to "see" the NTFS hardware RAID? The contents of this array consists of my life's work, all my music and every digital photo I've ever taken, thus "doing it right" and knowing what to do when it inevitably throws a wobbly are very important for me.

Any/all suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

northern lights
July 22nd, 2008, 04:13 PM
The thing is, the stuff I need to access is currently on a motherboard-installed RAID array, which is formatted with NTFS. Can I bring this over after reformatting the OS (the OS is on a separate physical HDD)?
Yes, Ubuntu reads from and writes on ntfs partitions. Yes, it can handle RAID.

I need to be able to read from and write to this RAID-1 array from both Macs and PCs, and set up an FTP server similar to what I have running now.
Not a problem. Linux is imho the best OS to run any server from.

Long story short:

Wipe the system hdd, setup ubuntu, reconnect the RAID drives, setup a server. It's pretty straight forward.

w2irt
July 22nd, 2008, 04:47 PM
Wipe the system hdd, setup ubuntu, reconnect the RAID drives, setup a server. It's pretty straight forward.