PDA

View Full Version : Questions on the linux directory structure and more

Anvilsmith
July 20th, 2008, 12:17 PM
Caveat: I am more or less new to programming; some of what I say may sound nonsensical or silly. If it does, please point it out.

My goal for this summer is to write a dynamic prose generator (in C++), which may later be incorporated into MUDs and text adventures. To my knowledge, nothing of this sort has been written so far. I hope to gain solid knowledge of open source programming (i.e. writing highly readable code) on this project, as well as some much-needed knowledge on Linux. Since I know next to nothing about Linux right now, I thought I'd bring up some questions regarding...

...The actual programming:
* Would it be quicker to learn the Linux API, or should I use GTK or some other multi-platform API? My concern for now is not portability, but completing the project as quickly as possible. I have never used an API before, apart from reading a bit of Charles Petzold's Programming Windows.

* Can you recommend a concise, exhaustive, bottom-up tutorial for any of the above APIs? For reference, I consider www.cplusplus.com/doc/tutorial/ to be an excellent tutorial.

* On a purely aesthetic note, where is it more "kosher" to put the project files? /src or /home/[...]/my_project?

...Making the package:
* Would it take long (i.e. more than 8 hours) to learn how to manually create a package? Also, how can I ensure that the package will be compatible with standard Linux distributions?

* Where should the package install which file? I assume the program's binary executable would go into /usr/bin or perhaps /usr/local/bin (or is that a temporary directory for installation-related files?) or /usr/bin/[program name], documentation files might go into /usr/man, but what about data files like savegames? /var/run ?