PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Not volume Control and not phones Sense [SOLVED]

sagdall
July 20th, 2008, 12:42 AM
I'm a novice Mexico user of Ubuntu and any other distribution.

About 3 weeks ago I noticed that I can't move the slider of volume (only PCM-2 100% or Mute) and also I can't change the volume using the keyboard (the same 100% or mute). Also I noticed if I plugged the headphones at front connector still have output at speakers (not commute sensitivity). I checked At System --> preferences --> Sound only appeared 3 devices:

1: Realtek ALC861 (OSS Mixer)
2: Playback: ALSA PCM on front:0 (Realtek ALC861 analog) via DMA (PulseAudio Mixer)
3: Capture: Monitor source of ALSA PCM on front:0 (Realtek ALC861 analog) via DMA (PulseAudio Mixer)
4: Capture: ALSA PCM on front:0 (Realtek ALC861 analog) via DMA (PulseAudio Mixer)

Also these 4 devices are showed at Sound Icon at panel using mouse right button and selecting preferences

Alsa Mixer also didn't work because appeared following if I typed at Terminal: alsamixer:

snd_alsamixer_load failed: Not such directory (or something like that)

My computer is a Desktop Gateway model GT3072m with a P4 HT processor. the motherboard is Micro Star Int'l with integrated Video card and Sound card.

The sound card model is ATI IPX SB450 with the Azalia HD Audio Codec from Realtek ALC861. The computer has 6 jacks at rear and 2 at front.

I search at many, many threats at many, many forums (also here) and after read and do some advices from them, Today I finally get to works both: The slider for volume (PCM Level) can be controlled by the Icon on the panel and the keyboard. Also I get to sense the phones so when I plug the phones the speaker goes off.

1. First I opened the alsa-base
sudo gedit /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base

and wrote at the end of file the following (for realtek ALC861):
options snd-hda-intel model=6stack