PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Adept Installer & Security Updates



fifth
July 14th, 2008, 06:22 PM
Just noticed in my software sources that 'Important Security Updates' is not selected. However, when I try to tick the check box it returns to an unchecked state? So I'm not sure if I am getting security updates or not, anyone else noticed this?

In case its relevant, I have all sources checked, ie Recommended, Proposed, Unsupported, etc. I just cant select Security updates.

[Edit]
Just checked my sources.list and looks like I am getting security updates;


deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security main restricted
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security main restricted
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security universe
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security universe
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security multiverse
deb-src http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu hardy-security multiverse
deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-security restricted main multiverse universe

Could be a bug with the Software Sources app?

solitaire
July 14th, 2008, 07:26 PM
I've just noticed the same with my Install.

I have the Security deb lines in my list as well...

fifth
July 14th, 2008, 10:22 PM
I've just noticed the same with my Install.

I have the Security deb lines in my list as well...

Thanks for confirming solitaire.

Looking again at my source.list, not sure if this line should be there;


deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-security restricted main multiverse universe

Seems to me that this duplicates the preceding lines?

solitaire
July 14th, 2008, 11:13 PM
I've the same lines but it has:

The

deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-security restricted main multiverse universe
is doubled in my list with


#Added by software-properties

at the end of the second set of lines. (There is a few lines with that at the end.)
I hope it's just a Bug rather than an issue.

UKHacker
July 15th, 2008, 11:06 AM
Just thought I'd post to say that I too have this problem but in Ubuntu Hardy. Don't actually know how to get the list of sources up to check that I am getting the updates.

Partyboi2
July 15th, 2008, 11:23 AM
Just thought I'd post to say that I too have this problem but in Ubuntu Hardy. Don't actually know how to get the list of sources up to check that I am getting the updates.
Alt+F2 then enter

kate /etc/apt/sources.list Or open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal)

cat /etc/apt/sources.list

UKHacker
July 15th, 2008, 11:32 AM
Alt+F2 then enter

kate /etc/apt/sources.list Or open a terminal (Applications>Accessories>Terminal)

cat /etc/apt/sources.list

Thank You. Looks like I am receiving the security updates so it must just be some sort of bug with the software sources app.

fifth
July 15th, 2008, 07:16 PM
After a bit of experimenting, the correct changes are being made to the sources.list file by Adept Installer. However, the current state is not reflected in the application - it always shows Security Updates as off.

Each attempt to check the updates box will enable/disable the security updates.

I've also found line in the sources which is effected is the multi item line;


deb http://security.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ hardy-security restricted main multiverse universe

The individual lines I have in my sources file are not effected, ie in my case security updates will always be enabled due to the duplicates.

Was thinking of filing a bug on this, but for completeness would be good to have more feedback on whether everyone else has the individual lines for the security repo's as well as the 'all-in-one'line?

[Edit]
As an aside, Synaptic is unaffected and correctly comments/uncomments the security multi line - although the other individual lines remain.

solitaire
July 22nd, 2008, 05:53 PM
I'm using Ubuntu and i've got 3 extra set's of the "all in one" line (dep http & dep-src http).

I'm gonna clean up the file and see what difffrence that makes.

solitaire
July 22nd, 2008, 06:05 PM
Cleaned out the Sources.list file. It's not made any diffrence. the "Important Security Updates" tick box.

Looks like it's a code problem with the "Software Sources" program.