PDA

View Full Version : I'm completely new to ubutu!

Markissocoollike
July 12th, 2008, 06:09 PM
Hi, I've only just downloaded this new operating system yesterday, I think it is pretty cool that it found my NVDIA 8800 GTX driver and all but I'm still finding trouble with a few things :(

1. I'm not used to where the Applications and settings menus are, is there a way to move it? Oh wait! never mind lol! That'll teach me to think more clearly (I dragged the menus)

2. I'm finding it hard to run Warcraft 3 I've tried wine but I can't seem to find any exe files in the folder... am I missing an extension to wine? Cos there are other files with the .ink extension strangly I've never heard of such an extension before which is strange...

3. I've noticed on a few videos theres a way to give Ubuntu fancy effects, different backgrounds stuff like that... is there a place you can suggest or should download from or use a menu option (I've noticed on a youtube video someone used the system menu then preferences and then the 3rd item down strangly I found that I got Assistive technologies instead not the same user interface tho :(

4. I don't like having an applications menu which looks un-windows like as I want to be able to run mostly windows programs on linux, not sure if that made sense but is there a way to make a start menu of some kind in linux so that it looks more like windows... I want it this way so that my mother can have this operating system on hers as well (my god intel pentium 4 is so old ^^) I'm hoping that this will speed that computer up and also my laptops however sacrificing the windows menu which I'm so used to is hard and also wine doesn't seem to give me the right browsing menu anyway it says browse in C: but it doesn't seem to have anything there however when I look in another folder called mark (which is the username XD) I find that all my programs and files are there which is a bit strange.