PDA

View Full Version : Absolute Beginners questions and answers for Newbies

sharks
July 11th, 2008, 12:41 PM
This is a thread where we should answer Absolute Beginners questions. Only basic problem questions.

Q: How do i update and Upgrade?
A: For update , type in terminal sudo apt-get update , for upgrade sudo apt-get upgrade.

Q: Ubuntu Microphone Problems and solutions
A: Open your terminal and just copy and paste the following code to get latest ALSA drivers which can fix.

wget
ftp://ftp.alsa-project.org/pub/driver
/alsa-driver-1.0.14.tar.bz2
tar -xjf alsa-driver-1.0.14.tar.bz2
cd alsa-driver-1.0.14
./configure
sudo make
sudo make install

But before trying above trick you can try one more trick.Double click on the volume icon on the panel.Then Edit>Preferences.Then make sure you selected Microphone,Mic boost,Capture.Once you do this you can find new capture tab in volume control panel.Here make sure nothing is muted(no red x on microphone icon).In options tab make sure you selected Microphone as input source.

Q : Permission Denied
A : Open the terminal and type sudo in-front-of-the-command

Q: Cannot access internet (ethernet)
A: type in terminal sudo pppoeconf and configure it

Q: Installing Files
A: http://monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing/

Q: Cant play videos in Websites like youtube and many other.
A: type in terminal sudo apt-get installl flashplugin-nonfree

Q: All codecs and Flash Player
A: sudo apt-get install ubuntu-restricted-extras

I hope this helps some of the members here and please contribute some here.

beercz
July 11th, 2008, 02:28 PM
This is a thread where we should answer Absolute Beginners questions. Only basic problem questions.

Q: How do i update and Upgrade?
A: For update , type in terminal sudo apt-get update , for upgrade sudo apt-get upgrade.

Q: Ubuntu Microphone Problems and solutions
A: Open your terminal and just copy and paste the following code to get latest ALSA drivers which can fix.

wget