PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] New to Ubuntu

tanman37
July 9th, 2008, 12:35 AM
Hello all, I'm new to Ubuntu, and was just wanting some help with some basic things.

1. how do i change themes? I've searched and it says to go to system>theme and i don't have that...

2. is there a Linux version of ms-dos?

3. what are some small tips i should know about Ubuntu?

thanks to all who decide to help, it's greatly appreciated

Inxsible
July 9th, 2008, 12:38 AM
Hello all, I'm new to Ubuntu, and was just wanting some help with some basic things.

1. how do i change themes? I've searched and it says to go to system>theme and i don't have that...

2. is there a Linux version of ms-dos?

3. what are some small tips i should know about Ubuntu?

thanks to all who decide to help, it's greatly appreciated
1) Depends on what theme you are talking about. There are GDM themes - for the login screen and GTK themes- for the desktop

2) You probably mean the command line. Yes Linux was first command line and then GUI ;). You can run the CLI within X by going to Applications>>Accessories>>Terminal.

You can also go to CLI mode by hitting Ctrl + Alt + F1

3) There are lots of tips and tricks in the aptly named sub-forum. Another thing you could do is search the forums and find out more. or simply ask questions here.

Finally, Welcome to Ubuntu and Ubuntuforums. :D

Xerp
July 9th, 2008, 12:46 AM
1. I right click on the desktop and do it from there. I get themes from gnome look:

http://www.gnome-look.org/

Some docs here:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UbuntuEyeCandy

2. No, but you can get MS-DOS emulators. You also get BASH - the Bourne Again SHell.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UsingTheTerminal

3. One small tip - use Synaptic to add and remove software!

http://monkeyblog.org/ubuntu/installing/

tanman37
July 9th, 2008, 12:49 AM
thanks for the welcoming :P and thanks for what you've said already,