PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] screen streched on widescreen monitor

saratchandra
July 8th, 2008, 05:08 PM
Just installed ubuntu on my friends computer with a samsung 17" widescreen monitor and the screen seems to be stretched a lot. I've changed the monitor settings correctly, but its still stretched. Screen resolution is 1280x720. Thats the optimum resolution for that monitor.

sydbat
July 8th, 2008, 05:16 PM
Looks right to me. Nice actually.

saratchandra
July 8th, 2008, 05:21 PM
He says the icons and right click are stretched. I'm not sure either. I've never used a widescreen monitor before.

oldsoundguy
July 8th, 2008, 05:31 PM
You need to go into the System and re-set the monitor and check the video display properties (may require an unsupported driver)(you need to have the card specifications and type). That resolution is for a standard aspect ratio monitor. The resolution should be (at a minimum) 1280 x 1024
My HP cinema is 1600 x 1024. That was achieved by installing the NVida card using Envy (a third party install program) and then MANUALLY selecting and installing the monitor.

saratchandra
July 8th, 2008, 05:33 PM
You need to go into the System and re-set the monitor and check the video display properties (may require an unsupported driver)(you need to have the card specifications and type). That resolution is for a standard aspect ratio monitor. The resolution should be (at a minimum) 1280 x 1024
My HP cinema is 1600 x 1024. That was achieved by installing the NVida card using Envy (a third party install program) and then MANUALLY selecting and installing the monitor.

I already installed nvidia drivers. The manual for the monitor says 1280 x 720 is the maximum possible resolution.

saratchandra
July 8th, 2008, 05:35 PM
Should I install the driver from envy or enable restricted driver?

sydbat
July 8th, 2008, 05:35 PM