PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] downloading very slow



japephillips
July 8th, 2008, 10:21 AM
In recent times I have had a lot of slooooooow dialup connections after a couple of months of all well. My ISP reckon something is downloading in the background but I cannot see anything (using Firestarter), they insist I do a TCP dump on PPP as their end shows all well (of course!). I don't have any idea how to do that and a web search made no sense to me. I am using Ubuntu 7.10 and have also a partition set up to use 8.04 but with same slow results. I use Fireworks and it often freezes during opening of tags, downloading web pages, general stuff that used to be OK. I have to hard switch off.
Any ideas please?

ChameleonDave
July 8th, 2008, 04:00 PM
Fireworks? Isn't that a Windows app?

japephillips
July 9th, 2008, 12:21 AM
firefox

ChameleonDave
July 9th, 2008, 02:28 AM
firefox

OK. People sometimes report that, sadly, there are more bugs in Firefox for Linux than for Firefox for Windows.

To see whether this is a Firefox problem or an Internet connection problem, try using another browser.

The GNOME desktop has Epiphany, and KDE has Konqueror. Opera is also a very good browser. Install them if necessary, and see how it works.

jordanmthomas
July 9th, 2008, 03:09 AM
Well, although it's unlikely you have background downloads you don't know about, have you done a tcpdump?

sudo tcpdump
It will show all the connections you're making. If you see anything you don't recognize, it's something you should perhaps investigate.

iaculallad
July 9th, 2008, 03:21 AM
You could try the procedures in this page (http://forevergeek.com/open_source/make_firefox_faster.php) to tweak your Firefox for faster access.

japephillips
July 9th, 2008, 03:56 AM
Well, although it's unlikely you have background downloads you don't know about, have you done a tcpdump?

sudo tcpdump
It will show all the connections you're making. If you see anything you don't recognize, it's something you should perhaps investigate.

Thank you, that was what I was asking for. A Google search gave me pages of stuff I didn't understand and no simple command.
unfortunately the terminal response is:

tcpdump: WARNING: eth0: no IPv4 address assigned
tcpdump: verbose output suppressed, use -v or -vv for full protocol decode
listening on eth0, link-type EN10MB (Ethernet), capture size 96 bytes

I tried sudo tcpdump -v and it didn't do anything.

jordanmthomas
July 9th, 2008, 05:54 AM
I have never used dialup with linux, but I don't think it would be using eth0, but some other connection name.

What do you get when you type

ifconfig
My output:

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:12:F0:43:FF:E6
inet addr:192.168.1.101 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::212:f0ff:fe43:ffe6/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:241592 errors:0 dropped:11 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:262611 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:119312398 (113.7 Mb) TX bytes:28413630 (27.0 Mb)
Interrupt:17 Base address:0xc000 Memory:dfdfd000-dfdfdfff

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:571426 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:571426 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:55499159 (52.9 Mb) TX bytes:55499159 (52.9 Mb)


The parts in red are my network interfaces. As you can see, eth1 is connected. lo is always connected and is just there so your computer can connect to itself (in simplified terms)

Yours may be something like ppp0 or something (again, I don't know for sure and this is just a guess. Don't worry if it's called something else)

Try running

sudo tcpdump -i ppp0
where ppp0 is the name of the interface you found with ifconfig.

Hope this helps.