PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] mbr error on boot

Tim Silver
July 8th, 2008, 08:44 AM
Hi,

I've been using the heron for a couple of months now with few problems other than those caused by me!

Went to boot last night and got 'MBR Error' and stop! - I really don't know what I've done this time. Was using laptop on battery and ran-out. I guess there was no proper shut-down (but what do I know).

I dual boot to an external USB HDD on a Dell Inspiron 9400 (XP on internal drive - rarely used since discovering the heron). Of course the GRUB is on the external drive, so I can't even get in to Windows.

I've booted using the livecd but cannot figure out how to get the important files off the drive before I reinstall.

Any help much appreciated as I would like to retrieve my work. Or must I just reinstall?

I have searched the forums, but haven't found anything that matches my situation.

Rocket2DMn
July 8th, 2008, 08:54 AM
I would run a file system check from the LiveCD. Boot it, check the device location with

sudo fdisk -l
Assuming /dev/sdb1 as your root partition, make sure it is unmounted

sudo umount /dev/sdb1
Then run fsck:

fsck /dev/sdb1
After that, I would try to reboot from the drive. If that fails, try reinstalling GRUB with the Super Grub Disk - http://www.supergrubdisk.org/

Then if THAT fails, you can boot from the LiveCD, mount the partition manually, backup your files somewhere else (like to another external drive or to your windows drive).

sudo mkdir /media/external
sudo mount -t ext3 /dev/sdb1 /media/external
Then mount your windows partition (or other device)

sudo mkdir /media/backup
sudo mount -t ntfs-3g /dev/sda1 /media/backup
For /dev/sda1 substitue for whatever partition you are backing up to, and change the filesystem option (-t <filesystem>) accordingly.

iaculallad
July 8th, 2008, 08:56 AM