PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Audio Editing / Mastering

eArquilla
July 7th, 2008, 10:11 PM
So as to not scare people off with an extremely long post, I'll have a short and long version. Skip the long if time is an issue. Read the long if you want to understand my situation more precisely (and chuckle at an audio newb)

Short:
I need help understanding the theory of music editing AND an example of putting that theory into practice using ubuntustudio apps, most importantly (I think) for my needs: ardour, audacity, and jamin.

I have basic knowledge of how to connect jack and record in ardour. I don't understand any theory behind music mastering in jamin, what the aim is, how you want the spectrum to look, etc.

Long:
I've had UbuntuStudio installed since it's release, upgrading with each release and to the 64 bit edition. I successfully got my Presonus Firebox working with it. I don't have a single -problem-, more of a question about how to use the software to it's fullest potential.

I think that most of the open-source software developers assume their audience has knowledge of recording, editing, and mastering with closed-source apps. I, however, have just begun.
I'm 19 and have played guitar for quite a few years, however, I have never been in a recording studio or had knowledge on how to correctly edit music.

What I have generally done is create one track in ardour and record from a condenser mic in the middle of my basement. Then my drummer, bassist, and I simply jam.

I moved to Denver for the summer (for a job), thus I'm experimenting on trying to record the way a professional would. So recently, I've been: