PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Creating symblink so that contents of folders are linked

ben22
July 7th, 2008, 08:13 PM
Hi,

I want the contents of folder A to be displayed in folder B with the help of a symbolic link.

So what I entered into terminal

ln -s /home/user/A /home/user/B

It is working half - instead of having the contents of folder A inside of folder be, folder B now contains the folder A.

What command do I need to have contents for folder A to be linked into folder B?

thx,
Ben

jerome1232
July 7th, 2008, 08:29 PM
the target directory can't exist

ie

mkdir backup-test
ln -s ~/backup ~/backup-test

produced what you have, a directory containing a symbolic link to backup

so you need to do

ln -s /home/user/A /home/user/folder-that-doesn't-exist

bumanie
July 7th, 2008, 08:29 PM
I'm no expert on symlinks, but you need to firstly copy /home/user/A to /home/user/B then do the symlink. Also if you do ln -sv the link will be shown in standard out.

ben22
July 7th, 2008, 08:39 PM
the target directory can't exist

ie

mkdir backup-test
ln -s ~/backup ~/backup-test

produced what you have, a directory containing a symbolic link to backup

so you need to do

ln -s /home/user/A /home/user/folder-that-doesn't-exist

Hm... I need the symlink for linking content from root/B to a subdomain. When creating the subdomain B.domain.com - a folder root/B is created first.

So - is there a workaround for creating the folder first and then linking the contents into the folder?

Thx!

Cypher
July 7th, 2008, 08:44 PM
I'm no expert on symlinks, but you need to firstly copy /home/user/A to /home/user/B then do the symlink. Also if you do ln -sv the link will be shown in standard out.

Sorry no, the entire idea of using symlinks is to get around the fact that you want to have 2 directories pointing to the same content. Copying from one directory to another defeats the purpose entirely..