PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New, Deciding on partition

madman587587
July 5th, 2008, 10:21 AM
OK, so I'm kinda new to this stuff, i have had heaps of experience with XP and networking but want to unleash from the shackles of Microsoft and head toward Linux.

This is where i have run into one problem, I know how to partion drives bla bla bla, but how should i do it?
I want to keep XP, so i will be doing a Dual-Boot with Windows and Ubuntu.

I have my primary HDD, 400GB SATA2 (with XP)
I also have a secondary HDD, 500GB SATA2

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/images/partitioning3.png

^that is what i think i should do, but i was wondering if Ubuntu supports / detects more then one HDD? and if i can make my secondary disk FAT32, so that it looks like this (with the secondary HDD been just FAT32)
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/images/partitioning2.png

Thanks for your help Guys and/or girls

bumanie
July 5th, 2008, 10:31 AM
I would suggest you leave windows on the primary drive and install ubuntu to the secondary drive. There is longer any real need to have a shared FAT32 partition as ubuntu has read/write capability to ntfs (and it is well tested and stable). I have attached screen shots of my set up. As you can see no FAT32 and there is no problem reading/writing to ntfs once ntfs-3g and ntfsconfig are installed. I did a manual partition of ubuntu so as to have a separate /home partition.

Whoops they didn't come out right. I'll try again with a delay this time.

bumanie
July 5th, 2008, 10:38 AM
Here is some clearer shots. Basically only have xp for my son who refuses to use ubuntu (too geekish he says). Have plenty of room to increase partition sizes if needed.

madman587587
July 5th, 2008, 10:38 AM
Now that's a good idea, but the problem is that both HDD are basically full, they have about 50GB - 60GB free on each, my secondary is just basically "My Movie Backups", so there is not alot of space and that is the only place i can put "My Movie Backups"

thanks