PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to manually partition in Hardy live cd, need help

andsmi
July 2nd, 2008, 07:45 PM
Hi, I've been using ubuntu since feisty fawn, but now, on hardy heron, I can't manually partition my old xp partition. I would like to use around 30GB from my ntfs xp partition, but I cant because when I click "edit partition" in the installation box from live cd, it doesn't say what size my new partition will be. It only allowes me to change the existing partition to another format like ext3, ext2 etc. How can I change just the size and make 2 other partitions (swap and ext3 for linux) while I still have the old xp partition? I managed to do this in gutsy gibbons and feisty fawn, but not in hardy heron. Thnx.

Matthewslf
July 2nd, 2008, 07:46 PM
You could use the gparted live cd separately

andsmi
July 2nd, 2008, 07:52 PM
gparted live cd? I'm still a noob when it gets to linux, but I know, well... thought I knew how to edit partitions and installing linux.

hyper_ch
July 2nd, 2008, 07:53 PM
install, while you're int he life session, gparted

andsmi
July 2nd, 2008, 08:00 PM
Thats what I'm doing, im installing in the live session. but thats where it dosen't allow me to manually size my partition, only the free space partition I can resize, but I can't take 30GB out of ntfs partition, I need to format the whole partition in order to make other partitions, but I don't want to formate mye xp.

hyper_ch
July 2nd, 2008, 08:03 PM
it probably autmounted the partitions....

unmount all the partitions first

andsmi
July 2nd, 2008, 08:06 PM
I get an error while unmount the partition. "error org.freedesktop.Hal.Device.InterfaceLocked.

Details: The enclosing drive for the volume is locked"

hyper_ch
July 2nd, 2008, 08:09 PM
what did you try to unmount?

andsmi
July 2nd, 2008, 08:10 PM
Yes. I located my ntfs partition and right clicked, pressed unmount and thats when I got that error.

hyper_ch
July 2nd, 2008, 08:13 PM