PDA

View Full Version : virtualbox and intrepid



MemoryDump
July 2nd, 2008, 07:16 PM
decided to try and test alpha1 using the latest virtualbox running on my hardy install.
got it installed (finally) but I keep on getting these kernel error messages when I boot it up. (attached screenshot)
I was getting them too when I was booting off the image too, however restarting the install a few times finally enabled me to continue with the install.


happy testing :D
-MD

philinux
July 2nd, 2008, 07:31 PM
Yep had this, just rebooted a couple times, seems to sort itself out. Or a trip into recovery seems to work too.

MemoryDump
July 2nd, 2008, 07:38 PM
I've rebooted a few times now and I'm not getting pass this error :(
VB is working properly as I have XP and Fedora9 running as seperate vb's.

edit: 10th times the charm.. finally got it to boot up!

spamzilla
July 2nd, 2008, 07:59 PM
I had the same problem a week ago. Remember to make regular snapshots just incase of breakage :D

Shazaam
July 2nd, 2008, 08:07 PM
I have a similar problem. See here.....
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=846927

mitchellcipriano
July 4th, 2008, 12:10 AM
I was having similar problems, but I increased the video buffer from the default 8MB to 32MB and it booted and installed.

simosx
August 31st, 2008, 12:47 PM
Apparently it is a random error (regarding interrupts), so booting a few times you can get lucky and continue. Once in Intrepid, it's good to save the state of the VM, to avoid the tricky booting process.