PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Wireless + Laptop

RMD94
June 30th, 2008, 02:55 AM
Hello,

i am new to Ubuntu, could anyone tell me how to connect to the wireless network? I have Asus Eee PC and i am usinng Atheros 802.11 wireless LAN card. I have already enabled the LAN card in Hardware Drivers, I just don't know how to set-up the wireless network. I right clicked on (the two computers icon on the top right) and clicked edit wireless networks but when the ask me for entering the bssids i can't type anything in the box..... I even tried typing the following in the terminal:

sudo lshw -C network and i get

pratibha@pratibha-laptop:~$ sudo lshw -C network
[sudo] password for pratibha:
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: L2 100 Mbit Ethernet Adapter
vendor: Attansic Technology Corp.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
logical name: eth0
version: a0
serial: 00:1e:8c:37:ef:97
size: 100MB/s
capacity: 100MB/s
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress vpd bus_master cap_list ethernet physical tp 10bt 10bt-fd 100bt 100bt-fd autonegotiation
configuration: autonegotiation=on broadcast=yes driver=ATL2 driverversion=1.0.40.2 duplex=full firmware=L2 ip=192.168.2.16 latency=0 link=yes module=atl2 multicast=yes port=twisted pair speed=100MB/s
*-network UNCLAIMED
description: Ethernet controller
product: AR242x 802.11abg Wireless PCI Express Adapter
vendor: Atheros Communications Inc.
physical id: 0
bus info: pci@0000:01:00.0
version: 01
width: 64 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: pm msi pciexpress msix cap_list
configuration: latency=0
*-network DISABLED
description: Ethernet interface
physical id: 1
logical name: pan0
serial: 22:4e:fe:ff:50:75
capabilities: ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=bridge driverversion=2.3 firmware=N/A link=yes multicast=yes
pratibha@pratibha-laptop:~$

actually this is my my mom's laptop, right now i am using wired connection. could someone plz help me????