PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] OpenOffice crashes on save/saveas using hardy

Famous Sheamus
June 28th, 2008, 04:49 PM
Openoffice 2.4 is crashing upon save/saveas. Application goes gray on screen and I can't even type in a file name or indicate what type a file to save it as. This happens both with word processor and presention "powerpoint" I haven't had a chance to experiment with other apps. yet. I am new to unbuntu so it's ok to treat me as "don't have a clue". New computer with Ubuntu Hardy Heron has been running great with no problems for about a month. If I knew how to back out updates I would go back about a week and try it as it was working fine last time I used program. Any help would be appreciated.

braddcadd
July 15th, 2008, 12:28 AM
Have you tried un-installing open-office and re-installing?

Applciations->Add/Remove-> (type "openoffice" in the search box)
Uncheck the unstalled packages then apply the changes

Do it in reverse to install them again. HTH

zozio32
July 15th, 2008, 01:36 PM
Same problem for me, but it extends to Gimp 2.5 and Inkscape. I can open a file in any of the 3 application by going the file icon --> right click --> open with "the desired stuff", but I can't open anything from the application itself. And I can't save anything... :(
I supected it was a problem related to my java installation as it appears after I uninstall OpenJDK to keep only the sun java stuff. But I've re-install everything since, and the problem is not solved.
I have also uninstalled OpenOffice.org and re-installed it from the package manager, but I still have the same issue.

Does it make any difference to Add/Remove an application with:
Applciations->Add/Remove-> (type "openoffice" in the search box) ?
Any help would be appreciated.

braddcadd
July 15th, 2008, 05:35 PM
See if you have any broken packages. Try this in a terminal:

sudo apt-get check

silkstone
July 15th, 2008, 05:44 PM
If you think that the problem is java related, you could do a reinstall...