PDA

View Full Version : What can I do for Ubuntu that I can actually put on my resume?

wersdaluv
June 28th, 2008, 01:53 AM
I am an AB Psychology student and I want to work for the HR department of an IT company when I graduate next year. I spend much of my time learning about Linux and trying to help other users and I want to put my experience with Linux on my resume.

I can't put being active in the forums and irc channels on my resume. I can't develop software yet or contribute to Ubuntu artwork (I think, because I don't gimp or anything like that).

What can I do for Ubuntu that I can actually put on my resume?

klange
June 28th, 2008, 02:05 AM
I put my limited work for Compiz-Fusion on my resume, but that's probably outside of your realm...

If you provide support on the forums/IRC why can't you put that on your resume? I have "Active in open source communities" clearly listed on my resume.

ad_267
June 28th, 2008, 02:05 AM
I can't put being active in the forums and irc channels on my resume.

Why not? That shows you have experience with Ubuntu/Linux and have been able to help out new users with problems and getting started.

23meg
June 28th, 2008, 02:33 AM
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/ContributeToUbuntu may give you some ideas.

lisati
June 28th, 2008, 02:40 AM
I am an AB Psychology student and I want to work for the HR department of an IT company when I graduate next year. I spend much of my time learning about Linux and trying to help other users and I want to put my experience with Linux on my resume.

I can't put being active in the forums and irc channels on my resume. I can't develop software yet or contribute to Ubuntu artwork (I think, because I don't gimp or anything like that).

What can I do for Ubuntu that I can actually put on my resume?
Being active in the Ubuntu community is something positive that relates to problem solving - isn't an important part of the art of psychology about helping people others solve problems?

wersdaluv