PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] user ubuntu will login in x seconds...

esbo
June 27th, 2008, 06:58 AM
Hi I am totally new to this.
I made the CD and booted from it and I get a login screen.
I don't know any login or password or anything.
I tried guess or jus entering one but it just goes
round in circles (slow circles).

I found a tread with the same problem
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=602239

but there does not appear to be a solution there.

I can't believe I am the only one with this problem.

It has been a really bad experience to be honest.

Can anybody help?

It seems like I am wasting my time.

I can't belive they release stuff which does not work.

I tried the gnome session stuff but that made no difference
and the other sessions stuff.

I don't know ubuntu so a terminal screen is not much use to me
is it?

kelvin spratt
June 27th, 2008, 07:23 AM
It sounds like you need to install drivers for your graphics card a bit daunting if you are new to Linux. Post your graphic card specs and somebody will be able to help. their has been a lot of changes to drivers from ATI/Nvidia of late and the latest cards are very complex. The good news is ATI/NVidia linux driver support is now almost on par with with windows. I use the latest Nvidia gamers card on my 64bit rig. and find a lot of linux Distros have the same problems till I install the latest drivers.

mcduck
June 27th, 2008, 07:25 AM
Sound like you have a bad CD. Check the MD5SUM of the image you downloaded, and if it's not correct download the image again. I recommend downloading with Bittorrent as it automatically checks the file, making corrupted downloads much less likely.

Of course you can also just try to check your CD, the option is in the boot menu.

"I can't belive they release stuff which does not work." If it wouldn't work, what do you think we all are doing here?

esbo
June 27th, 2008, 07:35 AM