PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Gutsy freezing on login screen--caused by printer?

madmogs
June 27th, 2008, 02:23 AM
This isn't a new installation for me, but I know so little about Linux in general that it might as well be, and I have no idea at all how to solve it.

I have a dual-boot XP/Gutsy box, with the two operating systems on two physically seperate hard disks (XP on primary HD, Ubuntu on slave HD, installed after XP), and I've been using it fine for about four months until things went spectacularly pear-shaped.

About six weeks ago I installed a new printer (HP Laserjet 1100) on Ubuntu, and it appeared to go on without a hitch. However, last week I had to print out pages from a number of web sites (using a reasonably up-to-date Firefox) and a couple of emails on Evolution (no idea what version), and the computer froze midway through. Mouse wouldn't respond, keyboard wouldn't respond, nothing, so in the end I was forced to press the reset button.

When the computer restarted, I logged in to my account again and the computer immediately froze in exactly the same way as before.

After restarting a second time, on logging in I got a brief glimpse of some very worrying-looking error messages (something about the kernel being corrupted?) in the top left-hand corner of the screen, which promptly whited out when I clicked for more details, and froze again.

Subsequently, the computer has frozen shortly after I've reached the Ubuntu login screen every time, before I can log in. The odd thing is, every time I reach the login screen, the printer starts to churn out all the documents I was trying to print when the problem began.

I have no idea what this is or how to solve it, and am reluctant to fiddle for fear of making things worse. Can it be fixed? And if not, how do I retrieve my data without making matters worse?

unutbu
June 27th, 2008, 03:06 PM
I don't know how to fix your freezing problem, but perhaps I can help you save your data on another disk.