PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help please - Not dectecting (?) Realtek rtl8187b wireless

NewJo
June 24th, 2008, 01:11 AM
Hi All.

First some basic facts. I am a newbie with Ubuntu/Linux (1wk). I am not afraid of command line but know next to nothing about linux command line...

My system is an Asus motherboard P5B wifi, Intel core2 6300@ 1.87Ghz, 2GB Ram,ATi radeon x550card, Realtek rtl8187B on board wireless chip. Dual boot winxp with Ubuntu 8.03LTS

The problem.
Basically I don't think Hardy is detecting the wireless chip. 'sudo lshw -C network' just gives me the two wired Ethernet ports (unused - this machine only has wireless connection only). The same with the command iwconfig. I only get eth0 and eth1 - no wireless connection.

When I installed the ndiswrapper for the card through GUI (windows wireless driver)it says hardware installed, but the GUI (network) shows no wireless interface. See attached screen grab.

I think I need a way to make to force Ubuntu to detect the card/chip or a way to figure why it is not detecting it (if in fact that is the problem)... Remember I am a Newbie with linux, so English please.

BTW not sure if this has anything to do with it, but I can't find the network manager icon on my system. When I reboot I always get a whole lot of lines about network manager that flashes past me. Don't have time to really read to understand what is going on.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

P.S When I boot to winxp the same realtek chip works perfectly.

chili555
June 24th, 2008, 02:23 PM
When I reboot I always get a whole lot of lines about network manager that flashes past me. Don't have time to really read to understand what is going on.Linux has thoughtfully saved those messages for us! You can see them in a terminal with: