PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No internet



darkreaction
June 23rd, 2008, 11:43 PM
So i downloaded Wicd and I cant connect to the internet I want to re install network manager but I need to download it. I am on a live cd right now is there any way to fix it from here?

apjone
June 23rd, 2008, 11:59 PM
So i downloaded Wicd and I cant connect to the internet I want to re install network manager but I need to download it. I am on a live cd right now is there any way to fix it from here?

Never used, but a google reveals it is a GUI tool for networking. Are you trying to connect to the net using wired connection?

apjone
June 24th, 2008, 12:04 AM
if you open a terminal in the live cd and run



ifconfig


and



cat /etc/resolv.conf


and post the out put of both here I can give you enough help that youd be able to get online without the live cd.

darkreaction
June 24th, 2008, 12:41 AM
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ ifconfig
ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:18:4d:77:bc:3c
inet6 addr: fe80::218:4dff:fe77:bc3c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:15:f2:08:f2:d2
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17 Base address:0xa000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:3458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:3458 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:172900 (168.8 KB) TX bytes:172900 (168.8 KB)

wifi0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-18-4D-77-BC-3C-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:468 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:15500
TX packets:873 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:199
RX bytes:42752 (41.7 KB) TX bytes:40158 (39.2 KB)
Interrupt:19

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:11:50:78:44:3a
inet addr:192.168.1.101 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::211:50ff:fe78:443a/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:5753 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:6763 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5117189 (4.8 MB) TX bytes:1335414 (1.2 MB)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-11-50-78-44-3A-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ cat /etc/resolv.conf
### BEGIN INFO
#
# Modified_by: NetworkManager
# Process: /usr/bin/NetworkManager
# Process_id: 8605
#
### END INFO

search hosts.bc1.bresnan.net


nameserver 69.145.248.50
nameserver 69.145.232.4
nameserver 69.145.248.4

superprash2003
June 24th, 2008, 02:29 AM
are you able to open http://72.14.207.99

darkreaction
June 24th, 2008, 05:45 AM
No I have no connection to anything

apjone
June 24th, 2008, 12:03 PM
Your /etc/network/interfaces will probably look something like this



auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp


What we will do is give you a static IP

so boot up your machine as you would and from a terminal run


cp /etc/network/interfaces interfaces.bak
sudo gedit /etc/network/interfaces


and replace



auto eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp


with



auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.2
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1


then save it and run



ifdwon eth0
ifup eth0


And that should get you working on static IP over wired networking.

apjone
June 24th, 2008, 12:05 PM
are you able to open http://72.14.207.99

I think more people know googles IP than there own :lolflag: