PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Why are these Ports Open after clean Hardy install and How can I close them???

Mark.H
June 21st, 2008, 09:08 PM
Hey all

I'm a relative newbie to Ubuntu, and I am having a real issue with something!

That something is various open Ports.

I have ran a port scan on my routers IP address and my PC's IP address and they both show identical open ports.
This confuses me a little because I thought Ubuntu closed all ports when it is first installed???

I am using the new Ubuntu Distro' Hardy 8.04 and also Firestarter as my Firewall.

I have spent ages trawling through various search engines and forums looking for a solution to why these ports are open and HOW can I close them. With absolutely NO success!!

The Router I am using is a Sagem F@st 2504 Sky one and the open ports which are giving me such a headache are as follows:

Port / Protocol

21 ftp
23 telnet
53 domain
80 www
1863 msnp
1864 unknown
4443 unknown
5190 aol
5431 unknown
5566 unknown
30005 unknown

I hope there is somebody here who can help me make sense of this and possibly give me a solution??

Cheers for now..

Mark Hogan

Pjotr123
June 21st, 2008, 09:12 PM
This is why ports are open by default:
http://ubuntutip.googlepages.com/security

Try ufw for a change, instead of firestarter.

ramjet_1953
June 22nd, 2008, 03:40 AM
Don't forget that when you are behind a router, sites like Shields-Up report the port status of your router's firmware firewall, not the configuration of iptables.

Regards,
Roger :cool:

ddales
June 22nd, 2008, 10:07 AM
There are literally hundreds of ports that will be open by default even with a new installation. This is by design and many of them are needed in order for the system to run properly.

However, just because a port is open or available does not necessarily mean that it's usable.

To close ports that you don't want to have open comment them out of your /etc/services file and reboot.