PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Getting Frustraded!

londonlad
June 21st, 2008, 12:09 PM
hi all,

i have an ADVENT 5301 laptop & i cannot get Ubuntu to install! :(

there must be an Ubuntu geek out there who can help me?

the_doc
June 21st, 2008, 12:10 PM
Can you provide a few specifics as to your problem?

hyper_ch
June 21st, 2008, 12:11 PM
(1) it is adivced to use a descriptive thread title that reflects the content of the post/inquiry/problem and not a generic one like "noob here" or "help needed"

(2) you just say you cannot install ubuntu.... however you don't give any information. It's like I'd say "I cannot watch tv"....

drs305
June 21st, 2008, 12:13 PM
You will have to be more specific about the type of problems you are having.

Here is a great site for helping you get started - from planning partitions, burning the ISO to post-install advice:
http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/iso

londonlad
June 21st, 2008, 12:49 PM
ok guys,

i reboot my lappy with an original 8.04 cd, i get to the menu where you can choose to run ubuntu from the cd or install it etc etc. i choose to run it from the cd.........i get to the ubuntu loading screen then it simply freezes up on me!:(

i did manage to get the 6.06 live cd up n running, i needed to change the VGA settings though!

hyper_ch
June 21st, 2008, 12:50 PM
did you make a cd check for defects?

londonlad
June 21st, 2008, 12:54 PM
did you make a cd check for defects?

yes i did, that freezes up too! :(

hyper_ch
June 21st, 2008, 12:56 PM
then I think there's a problem with that cd...

nvteighen
June 21st, 2008, 01:03 PM
Have you burned the disc yourself or was it shipped to you?

If you burned it, have you performed a checksum to the .iso file before burning it (see https://help.ubuntu.com/community/HowToMD5SUM)? And burned at the lowest speed?

Those steps will catch most CD defects... Of course, avoid to accidentally move the desk where the burner is working (a common cause for CD corruption which is often forgotten).