PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] newbie can't resolve hostname

BigBadBaz
June 20th, 2008, 04:18 PM
Hi. I'm a complete newbie (first time setting up a server or dealing with Linux). I just installed Ubuntu 8.04 server. I can ping the ip address, but when I try to ping the hostname, it doesn't work.

drs305
June 20th, 2008, 04:21 PM
Run this to check the hosts file. It should have a line like:
127.0.0.1 yourcomputername

cat /etc/hosts

If you aren't sure, you can post the results here and we can look at it and give you further advice.

the_doc
June 20th, 2008, 04:21 PM
You resolve host names either by a DNS service or by your own hosts file. If you're setting up your own server I'm guessing you've not set up a DNS sevice?

BigBadBaz
June 20th, 2008, 04:36 PM
Run this to check the hosts file. It should have a line like:
127.0.0.1 yourcomputername

cat /etc/hosts

If you aren't sure, you can post the results here and we can look at it and give you further advice.

It reads:
127.0.0.1 localhost

BigBadBaz
June 20th, 2008, 04:36 PM
You resolve host names either by a DNS service or by your own hosts file. If you're setting up your own server I'm guessing you've not set up a DNS sevice?

I set my server up within another network that has a DNS service.

the_doc
June 20th, 2008, 04:37 PM
Put the IP address of the PC you want to connect to plus its name into that file in the same format as the localhost entry.

BigBadBaz
June 20th, 2008, 04:41 PM
Put the IP address of the PC you want to connect to plus its name into that file in the same format as the localhost entry.

I did that with one computer, and it worked. However, I also want to be able to access my server with webmin from any machine I want.

the_doc
June 20th, 2008, 04:43 PM