PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] A list of things you do after a fresh install

matthew1471
June 20th, 2008, 03:49 PM
I'm sure I read somewhere there was a list of things that people did after a fresh install... but I can't find it.

Can someone point me in it's direction? Or can we start a new one (if it never existed?!)

I'm a complete newb... so the only thing I can add at the moment is that I

1) Install php, mysql and apache etc
2) Fiddle with the ~/.bashrc file
3) Fiddle with the font settings and resolution

What else do you do? I don't check for any updates (should I?), I don't set any security settings (should I?), in fact, I don't do anything apart from 1, 2 + 3! (should I be doing anything else?!)

Cypher
June 20th, 2008, 03:54 PM
#1 is entirely dependant on whether you're going to be doing any web development or not. #2 is useful if you're going to be in the command line and want to customize it (most users will remain largely in the GUI). #3 need only be tweaked if you notice any actual deviation from the resolution your monitor is capable or if the font isn't to your liking.

After a fresh install from the CD, you should remove the CD from the Software Sources list and add the Ubuntu repos on the Internet including the Security repo. This will usually prompt an update to happen with all the latest packages.

I'm not sure there are any procedures that are required after a fresh install short of customization to suit your needs, i.e., themes, sounds, icons and so on..

drs305
June 20th, 2008, 03:59 PM
This may be the one you've seen recently:
Post installation checklist for Ubuntu Hardy Heron 8.04 (http://ohioloco.ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=5020719)

matthew1471
June 20th, 2008, 03:59 PM
I'm not sure there are any procedures that are required after a fresh install short of customization to suit your needs, i.e., themes, sounds, icons and so on..

That's pretty much what I was thinking. It almost seems too easy...