PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Toshiba Laptop Wireless Card detected...not connecting!



logreeval
June 20th, 2008, 06:50 AM
I have a toshiba portege 4010 laptop that has a built in wireless card...

It detects the card, the card sees networks, but when i try to connect it just can't....the signal says 0/92...

Does someone know what I can do to get internet working?

Thanks!!

superprash2003
June 20th, 2008, 11:52 AM
go to the terminal and type iwconfig and post output..similarly post ifconfig output

logreeval
June 20th, 2008, 05:53 PM
Thank you for the reply! :)

Here it is...

iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

irda0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"" Nickname:"HERMES I"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.457 GHz Access Point: None
Bit Rate:2 Mb/s Sensitivity:1/3
Retry limit:4 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=0/92 Signal level=134/153 Noise level=134/153
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:1 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0




ANd...

ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:39:5a:0e:d2
inet addr:192.168.1.100 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::200:39ff:fe5a:ed2/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:706 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:731 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:776580 (758.3 KB) TX bytes:104380 (101.9 KB)

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:2d:69:3c:52
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0x100

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:34 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1892 (1.8 KB) TX bytes:1892 (1.8 KB)


Thanks for the help!

logreeval
June 21st, 2008, 04:34 AM
Well i took it to my other house and now the internet works....weird...

The only difference is the other house has WEP...

Here are the posts with working internet....

lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

irda0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"LRV" Nickname:"HERMES I"
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: 00:1D:7E:6C:21:30
Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Sensitivity:1/3
Retry limit:4 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality=74/92 Signal level=-15 dBm Noise level=-89 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:2
Tx excessive retries:1 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


and..

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:00:39:5a:0e:d2
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:3443 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2728 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3761380 (3.5 MB) TX bytes:259362 (253.2 KB)

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:2d:69:3c:52
inet addr:192.168.1.105 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::202:2dff:fe69:3c52/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:6622 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4401 errors:1 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:7856239 (7.4 MB) TX bytes:672693 (656.9 KB)
Interrupt:11 Base address:0x100

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:38 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:38 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1900 (1.8 KB) TX bytes:1900 (1.8 KB)

So thats great....atleast i know the internet does infact work....

Maybe a WEP issue with the wireless driver??

For now its fine though...

I only have one other question, I can only 800x600 resolution, but it is so small, i need the 1024x768, do you know how to make that possible?

Thanks for the help!!

lisati
June 21st, 2008, 04:42 AM
I, too, have a Toshiba laptop, but a different model. Just one question: do you have "Roaming mode" enabled for your wirelss connection?

logreeval
June 21st, 2008, 05:31 AM
lisati, yes i do.. all i know for sure is open networks work, not password encrypted ones...

And for the screen resolution, this helped MUCHO!:


If you did a fresh Xubuntu install then you might not have the "Screen and Graphics Preferences" application. Open up a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and type:


sudo apt-get install displayconfig-gtk

then run the application with admin privilages:


gksudo displayconfig-gtk

and configure your monitor and resolution settings. If you have nVidia card the next thing you should do is install nvidia-settings


sudo apt-get install nvidia-settings

and run it again with admin privilages:


gksudo nvidia-settings

configure your settings and hit "Save to X Configuration File". Restart the system and you should be ok.

logreeval
July 10th, 2008, 10:39 PM
I am still trying to get it to work, but was on vacation.

All i know is that the orinoco driver is being used, and it works on open wireless connections...

Thanks

logreeval
July 14th, 2008, 12:52 AM
Anyone know any possible way to fix this?

Thanks