PDA

View Full Version : C programing error check for only number

Nexcompac
June 19th, 2008, 08:20 PM
I have been working on a small assignment and most importantly I am very new to programing. I am using a compiler called Miracle C to work it. (All windows jokes to follow I'm sure.)

Anyways, I can not for the life of me figure out how to prompt for error checking for a number and kick back if a letter is entered. At the moment, it gets stuck in an eternal loop if a letter is entered. Where am I failing?

#include <stdio.h>
int main(void)
{
//// Define sales tax for locations
float DELMAR = .0725;
float ENCINITAS = .0750;
float LAJOLLA = .0775;

//// Define purchase price
float PURCHASE = 0.00;
//// Define a restart point
Start:
printf("************************************************** *********************\n") ;
printf(" Kudler Fine Foods Purchase Price w/tax\n");
printf("************************************************** *********************\n\n") ;
printf("Please type the purchase price and then press enter.\n\n");
scanf("%f", &PURCHASE);

//// Start of if statements
if(PURCHASE<=0.0)
{
printf("Please enter a number greater than Zero\n");
//// This will redirect the program back to the Start:
goto Start;
}
else
{
////if (typeof(PURCHASE) == typeof(int))
{
//// Display to the user the tax calculations from all three locations

printf("************************************************** *********************\n") ;
printf("Purchase Price -----> $%.2f\n" , (PURCHASE) );
printf("Delmar's Tax -----> + $%.2f\n" , (DELMAR*PURCHASE) );
printf(" =======\n") ;
printf("Total With Tax -----> $%.2f\n" , (DELMAR*PURCHASE)+PURCHASE );

printf("Encinita's Tax -----> + $%.2f\n" , (ENCINITAS*PURCHASE) );
printf(" =======\n") ;
printf("Total With Tax -----> $%.2f\n" , (ENCINITAS*PURCHASE)+PURCHASE );

printf("\n") ;
printf("Lajolla's Tax -----> + $%.2f\n" , (LAJOLLA*PURCHASE) );
printf(" =======\n") ;
printf("Total With Tax -----> $%.2f\n" , (LAJOLLA*PURCHASE)+PURCHASE );