PDA

View Full Version : Python- capable to make a WM?

commodore
October 28th, 2005, 08:51 PM
I'm not a programmer, but I have thought about learning it for a long time. I really like python although I don't know much about it. I'd like to know what is python capable of. I know it's good for interfaces and scripting. I have seen applications programmer in python. But can python be used to program something like a window manager? Not that I'd like to program a WM. I know kernel is in C so I don't know if this is thinkable.

majikstreet
October 28th, 2005, 09:07 PM
I'm not a programmer, but I have thought about learning it for a long time. I really like python although I don't know much about it. I'd like to know what is python capable of. I know it's good for interfaces and scripting. I have seen applications programmer in python. But can python be used to program something like a window manager? Not that I'd like to program a WM. I know kernel is in C so I don't know if this is thinkable.
/me wants to know the same thing.

jmonteiro
October 28th, 2005, 09:37 PM
Have you heard about Ununumium? It is an entire OS (in fact an Kernel) completly writen in Python. No other language, no C, no C++: just Python.

If it is possible to make an kernel with Python, why not an WM? Yes, it is possible :)

* The Ununumium webpage is: http://unununium.org/

Kimm
October 28th, 2005, 10:39 PM
They have some interesting points in their Introduction page. I'm interested to see how the project turns out.

By they way..
How the heck did they write a kernel in Python? did they write a compiler for it or what? Or have they not yet realized its an interpreter language? (j/k) :-P

commodore
October 29th, 2005, 07:52 AM
The language of Unununium is Python. This is not to say that programs are written in Python and the kernel is in C

I still like python :)

sas
October 29th, 2005, 09:08 AM