PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] NTFS and FAT32 partitions won't mount at boot.



Rock
June 10th, 2008, 01:45 AM
Ok, on my AMD Athlon 64 X2 5200+ 2.7GHz running Kubuntu 8.04, I can't seem to get these partitions to mount on boot and I did add them to my fstab.

This is my fstab.

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda2
UUID=79fa133b-3498-43bd-863c-9b0ea4ad583d / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sdc5
/dev/sdc5 /stuff defaults,user,dmask=027,fmask=137 0 0
# /dev/sda3
UUID=02652175-e41b-4a22-8071-915d9e1e672d none swap sw 0 0
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/sdc6 /hdmovies ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /windows ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

Habbit
June 10th, 2008, 01:49 AM
You say they don't automount at boot - can you still mount them through the command line? If not, what is the output of the mount command? Anyways, what is the mount error at boot?

Have you checked the device names? Try to use UUIDs instead, they are available even for FAT and NTFS volumes (though they're shorter).

Is "ntfs-3g" still the correct fstype id in Hardy? My /etc/fstab has "ntfs" even though I know it uses ntfs-3g.

Rock
June 10th, 2008, 02:19 AM
Yeah, I can mount them with the command line but it's really annoying to be forced to do that at boot. How do I use UUIDS? Yes, I think it is the correct type.

Habbit
June 10th, 2008, 02:47 AM
Using UUIDs: you can get a filesystem UUID invoking vol_id -u blockdev, where blockdev is your partition (i.e. /dev/sdc6). Then, substitute that blockdev on fstab for UUID= and the uuid you obtained, just like the first entries.

In order to see what the boot mount error is, you might want to boot the system without the "splash" flag (and even without "quiet" too). You can do so from the GRUB menu.

Given that they are ntfs partitions, can you auto-mount them ("mount -a")? If not, can you mount them right away one by one (i.e. "mount /dev/sdc6") or do you need to use any flag ("mount -o force /dev/sdc6")? If you needed any flag, add them to fstab, to the "options" field.

Rock
June 10th, 2008, 03:15 AM
Using UUIDs: you can get a filesystem UUID invoking vol_id -u blockdev, where blockdev is your partition (i.e. /dev/sdc6). Then, substitute that blockdev on fstab for UUID= and the uuid you obtained, just like the first entries.

In order to see what the boot mount error is, you might want to boot the system without the "splash" flag (and even without "quiet" too). You can do so from the GRUB menu.

Given that they are ntfs partitions, can you auto-mount them ("mount -a")? If not, can you mount them right away one by one (i.e. "mount /dev/sdc6") or do you need to use any flag ("mount -o force /dev/sdc6")? If you needed any flag, add them to fstab, to the "options" field.
I don't have any errors, I don't think it's set to mount at the start up and when I do mount, I do it one by one using " mount /dev/sdb1 /windows" and such.

logos34
June 10th, 2008, 04:11 AM
this line (fat32 partition?)



# /dev/sdc5
/dev/sdc5 /stuff defaults,user,dmask=027,fmask=137 0 0

should be


# /dev/sdc5
/dev/sdc5 /stuff vfat defaults,user,dmask=027,fmask=137 0 0

Like Habbit says, use the uuids instead. Find with:

ls -l /dev/disk/by-uuid

or

sudo vol_id /dev/sdb1

Or

sudo blkid

Rock
June 10th, 2008, 06:18 PM
Problem is solved now because of using UUIDs with the sudo blkid command and this is my new working fstab.


# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
# /dev/sda2
UUID=79fa133b-3498-43bd-863c-9b0ea4ad583d / ext3 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
# /dev/sdb5
UUID="442B-F31F" /stuff vfat defaults,umask=007,gid=46 0 0
# /dev/sda3
UUID=02652175-e41b-4a22-8071-915d9e1e672d none swap sw 0 0
# Removable Devices
/dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
# /dev/sdb6
UUID="882814F02814DECE" /hdmovies ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0
# /dev/sda1
UUID="10E82325E8230894" /windows ntfs-3g defaults,locale=en_US.utf8 0 0

logos34
June 10th, 2008, 08:07 PM
Problem is solved now because of using UUIDs with the sudo blkid command and this is my new working fstab.

hmm...I see you copied the UUIDs with the " " ...Interesting, I thought you had to take those out for it to work (like your / and swap)