PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Secure Public Computer OS

malberga
June 9th, 2008, 04:02 AM
I want to build a secure system that is used by the public. I want the user to be able to browse the Internet but have no access to any other part of the OS or any other software for that matter.
The goal is to build a machine that will be in a coffee shop.
The other thing I would like to do is when the user does not move the mouse or enter anything on the keyboard for X minutes then a screen saver come on. Not just any screen saver, but an advertisment or several advertisments.
I understand that these are two different requirments. But any help on either one would be great.
I am a Microsoft VB programmer that wants to "see the light of Linux" I would also like to have some input on what types of programming packages (Like Visual Studio) and what language I am assuming PHP which I have dabbled with. I appologise for being MS Brain dead. But I have been reborn :)
Thanks in advance for any help

PinkFloyd102489
June 9th, 2008, 04:03 AM
Ubuntu has kiosk programs, which may help you.

Paqman
June 9th, 2008, 04:07 AM
I've heard of Open Kiosk (http://openkiosk.sourceforge.net/), although i've never used it.

starcannon
June 9th, 2008, 04:08 AM
Check this out:

KDE Kiosk Mode (http://developer.kde.org/documentation/tutorials/kiosk/index.html)

KDE Kiosk Tutorial (http://developer.kde.org/documentation/tutorials/kiosk/index.html)

Be sure to google around, you may find something for gnome as well, but it looks like KDE makes this pretty simple.

xravexheavenx
June 9th, 2008, 04:08 AM
Try just booting off the LiveCD. I have done it in a church youth center for their PCs and that way no system files or settings can be changed. Also, an installation of Ubuntu would be fine because most system settings cannot be changed without root privileges.

As far as setting the screensaver, you will have no problems with that. It is easy to work with within the display settings.