PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Just created home, now what?

Dutch70
June 9th, 2008, 03:09 AM
Hello, I am still on the live cd, I just used gparted to create a 15gb partition for home, now what do I do?... What goes there?, and how do I put it there?

dev/sda5-80gb is the drive I cut, and sda7-15gb is the new empty one, now that I have it. what do I do with it?

I have studied endlessly, but as I am new to PC's perioid, I really dont understand..... docs and settings in windows either for that matter. I would really appreciate a little guidance if you dont mind. Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

fhmanas
June 9th, 2008, 03:14 AM
Why did you create a home directory? You should mount that partition to be able to access it.

If your intention is to try Ubuntu, why don't you just install Ubuntu on the partition you created and dual-boot. Any configuration you make with the Live CD will not be stored even if you save it in the 'home' partition.

If you don't want dual-booting, install Ubuntu in a Virtual Machine, you can use either VirtualBox or VMWare, I use VirtualBox as it has lower overhead in Windows.

BTW, the live cd already has it's own limited home directory stored in RAM, not really useful.

Dutch70
June 9th, 2008, 03:45 AM
I installed ubuntu about 3-4 days ago, I am just using the live cd to try and create the home directory so I can do a fresh install when new versions come out, not just trying ubuntu, I am determined to have it on here permanenlty,

I dont understand the whole concept of dual booting. I have researched many sites, but I am undecided on how I am going to combine linux and vista music and pics and such. So do I need to take the live cd out and boot up to where I have linux installed in order to finish,

Paqman
June 9th, 2008, 03:48 AM
What goes there?, and how do I put it there?