PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Flashplayer and security stuff

Waqsione
June 8th, 2008, 10:02 PM
Hello, everyone. I'm pretty new to Ubuntu, and is wondering if a few small questions of mine can be answered. For the sake of convenience, I'm asking three of them here (That's okay, right?).

1. I've installed the flashplayer some days ago, and at one point in the installation, it told me to get an administrator to remove a file (I don't remember it's name, but I think it was a dat file- whatever that is). I haven't done so yet (because I'm not sure how), but didn't see any problems that might have arose because of it. Should I do something about it, or am I worrying too much?

2. I read that announcement about the security vulnerability on the top of the forums, and ran that code that's suppose to test if my system's vulnerable or not (on the terminal). It didn't gave a response, and just went to the next line waiting for a new command. Does this mean my computer's okay, or did I do something incorrectly?

3. Can anyone recommend some reliable security softwares for Ubuntu? Or are the security updates that it gets enough for general users?

Thank you for reading through the questions, and I would appreciate it if you can answer any one of them.

ibuclaw
June 8th, 2008, 10:25 PM
Hello Waqsione.

Sure, you can ask all the questions you like. We won't mind :)
We are here to help aid the transition and hassles of learning to administer a completely new Operating System.

To reply to your questions.

1) Did you install flashplayer via the repository/when Firefox asked you to install it?
Or did you download it from Adobe's Site and installed it yourself?

2) If you are referring to the OpenSSL fiasco. Then you should be alright.
If nothing gets outputted, that means that you are not using/haven't yet used ssh to connect to anywhere yet. So you shouldn't worry about that for now.

3) Ubuntu is pretty safe as is out of the box. Although it does help to be cautious.