PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Feisty>Gutsy Get back my Thunderbird installed with Automatix

Theresa
June 8th, 2008, 11:47 AM
Hello,
When I first installed Feisty a year ago, I installed Thunderbird through Automatix,one night when a Thunderbird (then installed as part of Ubuntu package) upgrade was very messy.
Now I have updated (a bit painfully) to Gutsy.
Thunderbird is back through Ubuntu, with only two accounts, an address-book not up to date,etc (that is,files are where Automatix had put them,that is in .mozilla-thunderbird and not .thunderbird).
How do I get my other mail accounts and attached mails and adress books back ?
Same pb with Firefox: my bookmarks are into the Automatix set up.
I used Automatix then since,as an absolute beginner, it was very easy to use.
A year later,I'm not such a beginner...though my Feisty worked so perfectly I did not get a chance to learn a thing !!
Thank you much for your help.

ajgreeny
June 8th, 2008, 01:00 PM
I've never used automatix in my three years of ubuntu use, but suggest you uninstall it, having first uninstalled its versions of both FF and ThB. Then install FF and ThB using synaptic or apt-get as usual.

Make sure you have backups of all your mail folders etc etc and bookmarks and other things you want from FF, and then for safety delete the profiles of both and let new ones be made when you restart the programs. You can then reinstate the mail and bookmarks, etc and you should have nice clean versions of both available.

Theresa
June 8th, 2008, 01:13 PM
Thank you for your reply.
I am just worried that the fresh install of Thunderbird won't find the right folders since the path to mails and address books set up by Automatix are not the ones set up by an install thru the Ubuntu packages.
What do you think ?

Theresa
June 8th, 2008, 01:20 PM
Sorry,forgot one other question :
how do I remove the Automatix/thunderbird and the Automatix/Firefox ? What is the path ? (ie, sudo apt-get remove ???)
Thank you again.