PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Automated Backups on Ubuntu Server

benauld345
June 6th, 2008, 06:59 PM
Hi,

I'm quite new to the linux community, and I'm really impressed with Linux, however I'm stuck on something!

I've got a few folders on my server which need to be backed up daily at 6am on to my portable hard drive. My portable hard drive has been mounted as /portablehd .

I need to backup the following directories:
/music
/auction
/var/www

And MySQL (if possible)

Any help will be much appreciated!

Thanks

Ben

HalPomeranz
June 6th, 2008, 07:21 PM
You can just use rsync and mysqldump out of cron. Use "sudo crontab -e" and add an entry like:

0 6 * * * /usr/sbin/mysqldump --all-databases | gzip >/portablehd/msqldump.gz; /usr/bin/rsync -aH /music/ /auction/ /var/www/ /portablehd/

benauld345
June 6th, 2008, 07:48 PM
Hi,

Thanks for your input. I installed rsync no problem, I entered the command into the cron, everything went OK. Just to be on the safe side I thought I better test the script to make sure it all works. I ran the script and got the following error:

-bash: /portablehd/msqldump.gz: Permission denied
sudo: /usr/sbin/mysqldump: command not found

rsync: failed to set times on "/portablehd/.": Operation not permitted (1)
rsync: recv_generator: mkdir "/portablehd/Auction Program" failed: Permission denied (13)
*** Skipping everything below this failed directory ***
rsync: recv_generator: mkdir "/portablehd/Music" failed: Permission denied (13)
*** Skipping everything below this failed directory ***
rsync: failed to set times on "/portablehd/.": Operation not permitted (1)
rsync error: some files could not be transferred (code 23) at main.c(977) [sender=2.6.9]

Sorry to be a pain, and thanks again for your help.

Ben

cariboo
June 6th, 2008, 08:18 PM
It looks like you don't have write permissions set on your external drive, so fix that first. Next give simplebackup a try it's located in the repositories. It's quite easy to setup.

Jim

benauld345