PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] Amarok doesn't find my music until i open the music folder. HELP!

jimmysheldon
June 6th, 2008, 05:40 PM
Hi,

I'm fairly new to ubuntu and so this is probably something that is easily sorted out. My situation is this, i have two hard drives, windows on one and hardy on the other. All my music is on the drive i have windows installed on and so i've added my music folder to my amarok library thing. But the problem is, amarok doesn't find any of the the music unless i open the drive. It seems to me that the hard drive hasn't been 'found' my ubuntu until i open it. So i'm not sure whats going on. Sorry if i haven't explained this very well.
I was wondering if there was a startup command to 'find' the hard drive, so that i don't have to manually open and close it every time i want to play my music on amarok.

Thanks for any help, jimmy.

sayakb
June 6th, 2008, 05:45 PM
At a terminal:

gksudo gedit /etc/fstabAnd add this to the end of the file"

/dev/sda1 /media/win ntfs-3g defaults 0 0Replace /dev/sda1 with the one for you Windows drive. Check that by typing

sudo fdisk -l

EDIT: You need to reboot after adding the line.

wolfen69
June 6th, 2008, 05:47 PM
And add this to the end of the file

/dev/sda1 /media/win ntfs ro,noauto,user 0 0

you would actually want to make it auto, not noauto.

Duck2006
June 6th, 2008, 05:53 PM
or

/dev/sda1 /mount/point ntfs nls=utf8,umask=0222 0 0

Some info on mounting.

http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/mountwindows

jimmysheldon
June 28th, 2008, 10:09 AM
Thank you very much for your suggestions.

I got a little confused at what i actually needed to do. Should i have done all of those things? Or one or the other? I've tired a few of them, and in different combinations and it still isn't working. Infact it has actually got worse, when i try to open (mount?) the windows hard drive manually as i usually do, i now get an error message saying 'unable to mount volume'.