PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] [SOLVED] How do I install Nvidia Drivers?

kayfes
June 6th, 2008, 06:01 AM
Hi I am new to Ubuntu I have the the Hardy Heron release and I am trying to figure out how to install the Drivers for a 9800gt.

Technoviking
June 6th, 2008, 06:05 AM
I'm not sure if the current NVIDIA drivers in Linux support the 9800gt yet. You can try using the restricted driver manager.

Goto System --> Administration --> Hardware Drivers see if will let you install the NVIDIA driver.

PmDematagoda
June 6th, 2008, 06:11 AM
I don't think the 173 drivers have hit the Ubuntu repositories yet, so you may have to install the Nvidia drivers manually.

kayfes
June 6th, 2008, 06:20 AM
How do I go about doing that? I followed some links but I ended up more confused.

kayfes
June 6th, 2008, 06:21 AM
Also in my System>Admin it only shows Hardware drivers and when I open that up there is nothing there.

kayfes
June 6th, 2008, 06:37 AM
Would be much appreciated. I like how Ubuntu works I just want to get these drivers setup tonight.

PmDematagoda
June 6th, 2008, 06:38 AM
First download the driver:-

wget http://us.download.nvidia.com/XFree86/Linux-x86/173.14.05/NVIDIA-Linux-x86-173.14.05-pkg1.run

Then install the prerequisites to install the driver:-

sudo apt-get install build-essential

After that is done, kill the X-Server with:-

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm stop

Run the installer with:-

sudo sh NV*.run
allow the installer to configure the X-Server.

Start the X-Server with:-

sudo /etc/init.d/gdm start

And there you go, it's installed.

kayfes
June 6th, 2008, 06:48 AM
The code:

Crashed the comp. Is it supposed to do that or what do I need to do to make that code work?

Thank you for your help.

SteveNorman
June 6th, 2008, 06:55 AM
you need to be in a virtual terminal before you do that, as it stops x server from running. In other words it closes your desktop down and brings you to a command prompt. Do this first:

CTRL_ALT_F1
Login
password