PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] hard drive light never stops blinking -- Ubuntu 7.10

socref
June 6th, 2008, 12:19 AM
Sorry, don't know where else to post this (and I am new to Ubuntu in any case)...

Ubuntu 7.10 on a Dell Inspiron 530 with 2 GB memory.

The hard drive light never stops blinking. It flashes every second, or second-and-a-half. Even after the computer has sat overnight, powered up but without anything running and also disconnected from the Internet, it still is flashing when I sit down to the computer first thing in the morning.

It's as if the system is indexing or checking for something, but it never stops. Has been this way now for weeks.

What to do, gurus? I don't think it can be good for the HD to be constantly turning and active 24/7/365.

Thanks.
socref

logos34
June 6th, 2008, 12:57 AM
I had the same problem in Feisty. Drove me bananas, if only because I could never figure out what it was. It definitely was not indexing. Some daemon snuck in there.

Maybe it's NSA surveillance. Boo.

FuturePilot
June 6th, 2008, 01:00 AM
Try running

in a terminal. If a process is thrashing the disk around it's probably using a bit of CPU was well.

Maybe it's NSA surveillance. Boo.

:lolflag:

walker9010
June 6th, 2008, 01:01 AM
See http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=484941

socref
June 6th, 2008, 01:34 AM
Try running

in a terminal. If a process is thrashing the disk around it's probably using a bit of CPU was well.

:lolflag:

Thanks, but I tried that already. Nothing unusual that I can see. 1% CPU, maybe 2%. But nothing running up CPU usage constantly.
socref

socref
June 6th, 2008, 01:35 AM
See http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=484941

OK, I read that thread. My Dell is a desktop, not a laptop, so unless I am not understanding something the solution at the URL shown above would not help.

Am I not understanding or should I run that set of laptop commands on my desktop?
Thx
socref

socref
June 10th, 2008, 01:39 PM