PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] White screens and root access

d_swordfish
June 5th, 2008, 10:14 PM
I've been running Ubuntu and dual booting for a couple of months now, and recently updated to version 8.

After noticing updates were not downloading, I browsed these forums and found out that I in fact had no root access and upon trying any sudo command I got a message about unable to resolve host. The forum told me I should try using the recovery console to regain root access. So I restarted, selected recovery mode from grub and attempted running various commands, these did not work so I went back to the recovery menu. Stupidly I managed to run the "Fix xServer" option. Now upon login I get a blank white screen and nothing happens.

I've tried searching around but have not yet found a solution. Can anyone help?

phidia
June 5th, 2008, 10:22 PM
Try pressing the Alt+Ctrl+F1 (other function keys up to F7 should work too)
from the CLI that comes up you can hopefully login and then type
startxand press enter. If that doesn't bring you a desktop it should at least give you some error output you can search and/or post here.

Baelus
June 5th, 2008, 10:31 PM
See if you have sudo rights.

If you do then try this:

sudo X -configure

That will generate a new xorg.conf file. Your current xorg.conf file is still untouched. This just puts a new one together. Then use this:

sudo X -config xorg.conf.new

At least that may get you a gui to work with.

- B

d_swordfish
June 5th, 2008, 11:09 PM
Ok, tried both of these. I still do not have root access and simply receive the message

Unable to resolve host: KAYE-OS-2

Using the startx command after logging in gives me this:

hostname: Unknown host
xauth: (argv):1: bad display name "KAYE-OS-2:0" in "list" command
xauth: (stdin):1: bad display name "KAYE-OS-2:0" in "add" command

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock and start again