PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to add repository

Paulo M.
May 31st, 2008, 10:58 PM
Hello everyone!
Please, I need some help: I'm still a newbie in ubuntu, and I want to install an application I found in CVS at sourceforge.net (stylus toolbox 1.1) but I have 2 problems... In first place I don't know how to add (if needed) that repository (http://stylus-toolbox.cvs.sourceforge.net/stylus-toolbox/Stylus%20Toolbox/) and either don't know how to install that application (I've already installed cvs in synaptic)
Can, anyone, please tell me how to?

Thanks in advance!

mkrahmeh
June 2nd, 2008, 07:20 PM
(http://stylus-toolbox.cvs.sourceforge.net/stylus-toolbox/Stylus%20Toolbox/)

u need to add the URL to the list of sources in which ur pakcage manager search..this is done by

sudo kate /etc/apt/sources.list
which will open the file sources.list using the kate program (u can use any other text editor of ur choice)
then add the URL to the list of URLs and save the file..
hope this will work

atomkarinca
June 2nd, 2008, 07:27 PM
u need to add the URL to the list of sources in which ur pakcage manager search..this is done by

sudo kate /etc/apt/sources.listwhich will open the file sources.list using the kate program (u can use any other text editor of ur choice)
then add the URL to the list of URLs and save the file..
hope this will work

In Ubuntu Kate is not preinstalled. There are two ways:

1. Hit alt+f2 and type

gksudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list

it will prompt you your password, copy and paste the repository address, save and exit. Open up a terminal (Applications > Accessories > Terminal) and type

sudo apt-get update

and now you can install that software

sudo apt-get install application-name

2. Go to System > Administration > Software Sources, under Third-Party Software tab click Add, copy and paste the repository address and select Add Source. The rest goes the same as the first one.

Sef
June 4th, 2008, 01:21 PM
Moved to Absolute Beginners.

Paulo M.